Skip to content

Aldo Orvieto – Malipiero – Complete Piano Music, Vol. 1 (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Aldo Orvieto – Malipiero – Complete Piano Music, Vol. 1 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:17:53 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Stradivarius

This collection of piano pieces by Gian Francesco Malipiero (Venice, 1882 – Treviso, 1973) almost seems to take us along a winding Venetian canal as we move through the moods of a composer who made the contamination between art and life the cornerstone of his existence. As he himself wrote in a letter to the French musicologist Henry Prunières in summer 1924: “My work is the barometer of my life”. From the extreme perspective of Bianchi e neri (1964), the last of his piano works, all the way back to the Poemetti lunari (1909-10), perhaps one of the first characteristic expressions of his style, Malipiero’s music explores the evocative possibilities of free and concise forms. His proclivity for a laconic style leads him to repudiate thematic elaboration in favor of short musical panels; a rambling flow more than a narrative evolution, timbric quality over ornamental virtuosity. Gino Gorini, the first great interpreter of Malipierian pianism, has well grasped the paradoxical game of antithesis that is at the core of Malipiero’s invention when he speaks of a “discontinuous continuity, an unregulated rule”. The result, however, is an imaginative and coherent world, one of the most original and unique of the first half of the twentieth century in Italy.


01. Bianchi e neri: I. Lento, non troppo
02. Bianchi e neri: II. Non troppo lento
03. Variazione sulla pantomima dell’ “Amor brujo” di Manuel de Falla
04. Hortus conclusus: I. Mosso
05. Hortus conclusus: II. Lento, non troppo
06. Hortus conclusus: III. Allegro
07. Hortus conclusus: IV. Andante
08. Hortus conclusus: V. Tranquillo
09. Hortus conclusus: VI. Lentamente, ma fluido
10. Hortus conclusus: VII. Allegro moderato
11. Hortus conclusus: VIII. Quasi variazioni, Tranquillo ma scorrevole, Mosso, Piuttosto mosso
12. A Guido M. Gatti
13. Preludio e fuga: I. Preludio
14. Preludio e fuga: II. Fuga
15. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: I. Preludio
16. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: II. Ritmi. Allegro molto moderato
17. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: III. Ritmi. Allegretto
18. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: IV. Canti gregoriani. Lento
19. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: V. Canti gregoriani. Allegro moderato
20. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: VI. Canti gregoriani. Andante
21. Preludio, ritmi e canti gregoriani: VII. Canti gregoriani. Eroico
22. Epitaffio
23. Filomela e l’infatuato (Transcr. G.F. Malipiero for Solo Piano): Danza e morte dell’orso
24. Filomela e l’infatuato (Transcr. G.F. Malipiero for Solo Piano): Filomela in Arcadia
25. Impressioni: I. Una processione a mezzanotte, da un’acquaforte di John Wright
26. Impressioni: II. Madrigale
27. Poemetti lunari: I. Salmodiando, gravemente
28. Poemetti lunari: II. Mestamente, ma non lento
29. Poemetti lunari: III. Lugubre
30. Poemetti lunari: IV. Presto
31. Poemetti lunari: V. Mestamente, quasi senza ritmo
32. Poemetti lunari: VI. Molto lento-Molto più mosso e marcato
33. Poemetti lunari: VII. Agitatissimo


%d bloggers like this: