Skip to content

Abbey Lincoln – It’s Magic (1958/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Abbey Lincoln – It’s Magic (1958/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 36:29 minutes | 303 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

Anna Marie Wooldridge, known professionally as Abbey Lincoln, was an American jazz vocalist, songwriter, and actress. She was a civil rights activist beginning in the 1960s. Lincoln made a career not only out of delivering deeply felt presentations of standards but writing and singing her own material. “It’s Magic” is her third album featuring tracks recorded in 1958 for the Riverside label.

Because Abbey Lincoln has always been careful to sing songs that have a deep meaning for her, all of her recordings through the years are memorable in their own way; there are no duds in her discography. Her second Riverside session (and her third recording), It’s Magic has been reissued on this CD in the Original Jazz Classics series. The backup musicians are among the best in jazz at the time (Kenny Dorham or Art Farmer on trumpet, trombonist Curtis Fuller, Benny Golson on tenor, Jerome Richardson or Sahib Shihab on reeds, pianist Wynton Kelly, Paul Chambers or Sam Jones on bass, and drummer Philly Joe Jones) and they have opportunities to play short solos. Lincoln is heard at her early best on such numbers as “I Am in Love,” “An Occasional Man,” “Out of the Past” and Randy Weston’s “Little Niles.” Recommended.


01 – I Am In Love
02 – It’s Magic
03 – Just For Me
04 – An Occasional Man
05 – Ain’t Nobody’s Business
06 – Out Of The Past
07 – Music, Maestro, Please
08 – Love
09 – Exactly Like You
10 – Little Niles

Recorded on July 24 and August 15, 1958 in New York City.

Abbey Lincoln – vocals
Kenny Dorham (tracks 3-5, 7 & 9), Art Farmer (tracks 1, 2, 6, 8 & 10) – trumpet
Curtis Fuller – trombone (tracks 1, 3, 4, 7 & 8)
Benny Golson – tenor saxophone
Jerome Richardson (tracks 3, 4 & 7), Sahib Shihab (tracks 1 & 8) – baritone saxophone, flute
Wynton Kelly – piano
Paul Chambers (tracks 3-5, 7 & 9), Sam Jones (tracks 1, 2, 6, 8 & 10) – bass
Jo Jones – drums


%d bloggers like this: