Skip to content

Aaron Frazer – Introducing… (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Aaron Frazer – Introducing… (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 42:18 minutes | 493 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Dead Oceans

Was soul music better before? No!” answers Aaron Frazer’s debut album. Spotted as the drummer and co-singer of Durand Jones & the Indications, this young soul brother from Baltimore, now living in Brooklyn, launches his solo career with Introducing…, an impeccable opus with a vintage flavour, produced by the legendary Dan Auerbach. In Nashville’s Easy Eye Sound Studio, home to the Black Keys, Frazer’s celestial falsetto, influenced by Smokey Robinson and Curtis Mayfield, resounds to perfection. Both conscious and amorous, like all the great fifties and sixties soul singers, he juggles pure love songs and politically charged numbers with ease. His soft voice is a divine whisper, modern and ageless at the same time.

A trans-generational cast supports Frazer, ranging from old hands like the Memphis Boys (who made their mark on Dusty Springfield’s Son of A Preacher Man and Aretha Franklin’s (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman) to the youngest virtuosos of the Daptone label – Big Crown Records… Gospel, doo-wop, funk and Northern Soul (Over You and its addictive up-tempo beat), Frazer even conjures up the ghosts of Marvin Gaye and Gil Scott-Heron on the smooth and funky Bad News. He knows and masters his classics, but his magnificent Introducing… is still very much an album from 2021, not 1961. Like his contemporaries Mayer Hawthorne and Curtis Harding, Aaron Frazer transposes his passion for vintage music into his time. He knows that the beauty of soul is that it cries with you, rejoices with you, makes you want to dance and can also make you think consciously and socially, whether it’s 1961 or 2021! – Marc Zisman


01. Aaron Frazer – You Don’t Wanna Be My Baby
02. Aaron Frazer – If I Got It (Your Love Brought It)
03. Aaron Frazer – Can’t Leave It Alone
04. Aaron Frazer – Bad News
05. Aaron Frazer – Have Mercy
06. Aaron Frazer – Done Lyin’
07. Aaron Frazer – Lover Girl
08. Aaron Frazer – Ride with Me
09. Aaron Frazer – Girl on the Phone
10. Aaron Frazer – Love Is
11. Aaron Frazer – Over You
12. Aaron Frazer – Leanin’ on Your Everlasting Love


%d bloggers like this: